I’m Christian, unless you’re gay.

http://www.danoah.com/2011/11/im-christian-unless-youre-gay.html

I just need to share this man’s blog post, even though I know it’s kind of old. Perhaps this is just my confirmation bias speaking, but I believe that religion is not about hate or intolerance, but the need to share something in common with one another. It’s a means to connect more easily with total strangers, to gain friends and lovers where you once had none, to be enfolded in one thing: love and acceptance.

Today, I would deny that many self-professed followers of religion are true followers, for if they would rather preach about sin and hell, and fire and brimstone, and intolerance to those who do not follow your ideals, then religion is worthless as an institution.

“Do you love me?” is one of the easiest, and yet one of the hardest, most abstract questions a person can ask another person. It is easy to say “Yes, I do. I always will.” and to mean it, only to realize that you’d made a mistake. But to say “Yes, I do, but I can’t accept that you’re gay.” is a lie. You don’t love me. You love your ideal of me. And if my self cannot outweigh a false ideal, then I’m sorry.

One of the follow ups to his post is one of the most heartfelt things I’ve ever read.

I’ve noticed that some of my most used tags are Life, Love, Writing, and Homosexuality. And while I don’t deny that I probably have less of a right to write about these topics, I feel that these are probably some of the biggest questions and things that I struggle with on a daily basis, if not quite as personal to me as, say, power structures. In the end, these topics are largely about trust, acceptance, and the ability to defy the people-created societal rules that have been imposed upon me since birth. These are things that I’m interested in solely because I seek answers and feel the need to approach certain topics from a different point of view other than mine.

I don’t know, really. I don’t know anything. But I want to know. I don’t understand why it’s so hard for people to stop sweating the little things and start thinking about what scripture and literature and history really teaches us about human nature. I feel that the vast majority of what we don’t understand exists only because of the way we limit ourselves, and not how any external factors limit us.

People can change. It’s only remarkably difficult, and, like overcoming an addiction, people will slip, fall, and break in the process, but perhaps they’ll come out a little more self-aware.

Leave a Reply

