I love you, Tom Sawyer

An eulogy by Becky Thatcher

Hello, I’m Becky Thatcher, Tom’s ex-girlfriend. I just wanted to say that, although a bit rough, Tom was a kind boy. Why, I remember the first day I saw him. He was in front of my house, and I in my garden, playing with the flowers, while he did all sorts of acrobatics. He was so weird that I decided to tease him a little and left for the house. Just before, though, I threw a pansy to him. When I saw the look on his face, I saw the little angel underneath its grimy exterior. That was the day I first loved him. In Sunday School, I was so surprised that Tom Sawyer had nine yellow tickets, nine red tickets, and ten blue ones, and demanded a Bible. He didn’t seem like the bookish type, but I can be wrong sometimes. He was obviously a very smart boy. In school, well, he gave me his peach and drew a picture for me. I was, again, surprised. Tom is such a talented boy! He can fight, he can draw and he sure can memorize those Bible verses. What else could he do? He even taught me how to draw when I said I wished I could draw as well as he could. What a nice boy!

But, Tom is gone now, and I will sorely miss him. I feel terribly sorry for rejecting his brass andiron knob. It was terribly rash of me to do so. If I didn’t,  then we would have something else to remember him by, besides the fond memories of his games, tricks, plays and roughhousing. Life will certainly be dulled without his bright, shining light of a life lighting our normal little lives. But, as time wears on, the wounds will heal, and someday, we will all be able to look back and laugh at the silly little boy we know and love as Thomas Sawyer, preferably known as Tom. I hope all of you will remember him as the mischievous, but kind-hearted boy who did not hesitate to tell people what he felt and brave enough to play the multiple pranks we all know and love as much as Tom, for they are a part of him, as he will always be a part of my heart.

Leave a Reply

