My Father’s Room

My father’s room is cold
cold
cold like missing steel

He has been gone
gone for so long
gone
that his room has lost all warmth

I stay up so late
so late
so late that I see the dawn breaking

waiting
waiting for him to return

My ears strain
strain
strain to hear the faint creaking

Is the house settling down for the night?
Turning in its dreams of warm sun and shifting leaves

Is the foot that treads the boards downstairs a man I know?
Coming upstairs after a long night of old movies

But no
He’s gone
Away
To a faraway place

Come back

please

Leave a Reply

