Birth By Fire

A villanelle of curious experimentation and flightiness.

“The spirit flees, the body will burn,
Colored by self in blue-green foxfire.
The body to ashes, ashes will return.

Finding release from the decorous urn,
Release me to the air to fly higher.
The spirit flees, the body will burn.

By flying so, so high, the ground I spurn
Green ferns against embers of the pyre.
The body to ashes, ashes will return.

Soon I return to reddish earth. I yearn
To help the flowers, one with the briar.
The spirit flees, the body will burn.

One with the oaken tree, of life I learn.
I watch the birds as they chirp and gyre
The body to ashes, ashes will return.

By dying, a place in this world I earn
Immortal living achieved through fire
The spirit flees, the body will burn.
The body to ashes, ashes will return.”

Leave a Reply

